Sign up to playtest Daggerheart!


No information on this page is final; it is only what is known so far.

Choose a class

Your class determines what your character can do, and how you behave in dangerous situations in particular.

Classes known about so far are: Wizard, Sorcerer, Bard, Rogue, Ranger, Druid, Fighter, Seraph, Warrior, Guardian.

There will be around 9 or 10 classes at launch.

Later in the game, players can choose to multi-class. How this works is currently unknown.

Choose a foundation

Foundations are like subclasses in many other role-playing games. Each class has several foundations to choose from. You should select 1.

Choose your domain cards

Each class has 2 domains, and these represent the types of actions, and particularly the types of attacks that class specialises in. For example, the Warrior class’s domains are called Blade and Bone. And the Guardian’s domains are Valor and Blade.

Notice how both of those classes have Blade as one of their domains? That’s quite common, as the classes share domains.

When creating your character, you’ll get to choose 2 domain cards. Each one represents an Ability or a Spell.

So for example, a Guardian can choose one Blade ability and one Blade Spell.

Both cards that you choose can be from the same domain, and both can be spells or both can be abilities; it’s up to you.

Keep in mind that since the classes share domains, you can choose the same domain card as another player in your party; then you’ll have to share it.

Choose a heritage

Your character’s heritage is made up of an Ancestry that you choose, and a Community that you choose. When chosen, place these cards in the relevant places on your character sheet.

There will be approximately 30 heritages to choose from at launch; it is unknown how this total will be split between ancestries and communities.

Assign character traits

Every character has 6 traits. These are Agility, Strength, Precision, Intuition, Presence, Knowledge.

When creating your character, distribute 4 points among these 6 traits. Each trait can be between -3 and 3. Then subtract 1 from any one trait. After this, your character’s traits should add up to 3.

Character traits can be marked. The effect of this is unknown.

Choose your starting weapon and armour

Choose your starting weapon and armour from the standard list of weapons and armors for level 1 characters, and record their information on your character sheet.

Take your starting inventory

Record the starting equipment for your chosen class on your character sheet.

Set your hit points and hope

Each class has different starting thresholds.

Your character starts with 2 Hope; record that in your character sheet.

Write your name and pronouns

Pronouns can be, for instance, he / him, she / her, or a non-binary set of pronouns like they / them.

Choose your description

Choose from the list of physical attributes on your character sheet, or come up with your own. The categories are clothes, eyes appearance, body shape, skin colour, and attitude.

For example, the options for clothes include patched, reinforced, sparing.

Answer background questions

There are 3 questions on your character sheet you should answer, that describe the events in your life that lead you to where you are.

The first question, for example, is “Who taught you to fight, and why did they stay behind when you left home?”

Create connections

These are also 3 questions on the character sheet you should answer, but these describe who you know and how you are connected to events around you.

One example is “What lie have you told me about yourself that I absolutely believe?”